ELIZABETH J. BEISE

Education:

Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1988

B.A. (cum laude), Carleton College, Northfield, MN, 1981

Experience:

2010- Associate Provost for Academic Planning and Programs, UMCP (interim 2009-2010)

2004-2006 Program Director for Nuclear Physics, National Science Foundation

2002- Professor, Department of Physics, University of Maryland

1997-2002 Associate Professor, Department of Physics, University of Maryland 1993-97 Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, University of Maryland

1990-93 Senior Research Fellow Kellogg Radiation Lab, California Institute of Technology

1988-90 Research Fellow, Kellogg Radiation Lab, California Institute of Technology

Professional Activities:

National Academies, Committee on Assessment and Outlook for Nuclear Physics, 2010-2011

Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA) Board of Trustees, 2010-

American Physical Society (APS) Executive Board, 2009-2011

American Physical Society (APS) General Councillor, 2007-2010

APS Division of Nuclear Physics Committees: Summer School 2000-2003 (Chair '03)

Fellowship, 2006-2007, Nominating, 2003-2005 (Chair '04), Program 2002-2004,

Executive 1994-96, 2009-2011)

Physical Review C Editorial Board, 2005-2007

JLAB Hall C Steering Committee, 2004-2006

Dept of Energy Committee of Visitors (Nucl. Phys. Review Panel), 2003, 2007

Chair, NSF Panel Review of Medium Energy Physics, 2003

TUNL Advisory Board, 2002-

Institute for Nuclear Theory Advisory Panel, 2002-2004

Bates User's Group Board of Directors, 1999-2001

Jefferson Laboratory Director's Search Committee, 2001

APS Committee on the Status of Women in Physics, 1999-2001

Associate Editor, Nuclear Physics A, 1999-

CEBAF User's Group Board of Directors, 1993-98 (Chair '97)

Honors and Awards:

Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2009)

U Md Dept of Physics George M. Snow Award for Promotion of Women in Physics (2008)

U Md Faculty-mentor Phillip Merrill Scholarship Award (2004-05)

Fellow of the American Physical Society, 2002

APS Maria Goeppert Mayer Award, 1998

NSF Young Investigator Award, 1995-99

Peter T. Demos Award for research at the Bates Accelerator, 1988

Selected Recent Publications (of 66 publications in refereed journals):

1. T. Horn et al., Determination of the Pion Charge Form Factor at $Q^2=1.60$ and 2.45 (GeV/c)², Phys. Rev. Lett. **97**, 192001 (2006).

- 2. D.S. Armstrong *et al.*, Strange Quark Contributions to Parity-Violating Asymmetries in the Forward G0 Electron-proton Scattering Experiment, Phys. Rev. Lett. **95**, 092001 (2005).
- 3. E.J. Beise, M.L. Pitt and D.T. Spayde, The SAMPLE Experiment and Weak Nucleon Structure Prog. Part. Nucl. Phys. **54**, 289 (2005).
- 4. D.T. Spayde *et al.*, The Strange Quark Contribution to the Proton's Magnetic Moment, Phys. Lett. **B 583**, 79 (2004).
- 5. Measurement of tensor polarization in elastic electron-deuteron scattering at large momentum transfer, D. Abbott *et al.*, Phys. Rev. Lett. **84**, 5053 (2000).

Additional Significant Publications:

- 1. S.D. Covrig *et al.*, The Cryogenic Target for the G0 Experiment at Jefferson Lab, Nucl. Inst. and Meth. **A 551**, 218 (2005).
- 2. T. Ito *et al.*, Parity-violating Electron Deuteron Scattering and the Proton's Neutral Weak Axial Vector Form Factor, Phys. Rev. Lett. **92**, 102003 (2004).
- 3. Measurement of the vector analyzing power in elastic electron-proton scattering as a probe of the double virtual Compton amplitude, S. P. Wells, et al., Phys. Rev. C 63, 064001 (2001).
- A high power liquid hydrogen target for parity violation experiments, E. J. Beise, D. H. Beck, E. Candell, R. Carr, F. Duncan, T. Forest, W. Korsch, J. W. Mark, R. D. McKeown, B. A. Mueller, M. Pitt, and S. Wells, Nucl. Instrum. Methods A378, 383 (1996).
- 5. Intermediate-energy semileptonic probes of the hadronic neutral current, M.J. Musolf, T.W. Donnelly, J. Dubach, S.J. Pollock, S. Kowalski, and E.J. Beise, Physics Reports **239**, 1 (1994).

Dissertation Advisor: Robert P. Redwine **Postdoctoral Advisor:** Robert McKeown

Ph.D. Theses directed: R. Mohring, K. Gustafsson, D.T. Spayde, J. Liu, T. Horn, J. Miller

Current Ph.D. Students: C. Ellis, T. Langford