Richard E. Prange Graduate Student Award & Fellowship
Graduate Student Award Recipients

Donovan Buterakos - 2022

Haining Pan - 2022

Dinhduy Vu - 2022

Graduate Student Fellowship Recipients

Prathyush Prasanth Poduval - 2022
The University of Maryland Condensed Matter Theory Center is honored to announce the Richard E. Prange Graduate Student Award & Fellowship, established 2022. These honors, awarded to a graduate level student who has conducted exemplary research throughout their PhD career and an exceptional incoming PhD student, respectively, honors Professor Prange and his ardent support of graduate education throughout his nearly 40 year career at the University of Maryland.

Funding for this award comes from Dr. Das Sarma’s Richard E. Prange Endowed Chair in Physics, which exists thanks to the generous support of Dr. Prange’s wife, Professor Madeleine M. Joullie.

Dr. Richard Prange (1932-2008) completed his graduate studies at the University of Chicago, where he worked with Nobel laureate Yoichiro Nambu, among other highly distinguished physicists. He accepted a position at the University of Maryland in 1961 Until his retirement in 2000, he played a vital role in the life of the Physics department. He led a substantial reform of its undergraduate major program and served energetic and innovative terms as chair of crucial departmental entities, including the Salary, Priorities, and Appointment, Promotion and Tenure committees. His was an important and highly-respected voice in all departmental deliberations.

Dr. Prange was the editor of a well-known book on the Quantum Hall Effect, but his interests reached well beyond condensed matter, into every substantive aspect of theoretical physics, including some pioneering work on quantum chaos. He was at complete ease discussing subjects as disparate as ferromagnetism and the cosmological constant. His interests also included history and travel. Professor Prange was a member of the Maryland condensed matter theory group for nearly 40 years and was an affiliate of CMTC since its inception in 2002.